Skip to content
Home » Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Cricket Stadium, Lucknow

Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Cricket Stadium, Lucknow

The Bharat Ratna Shri Atal cricket Stadium, arena in Lucknow, India, is an international cricket Arena. Hence, with a seating capacity of 50,000. It is India’s seventh largest international cricket venue.

The Uttar Pradesh government renamed the stadium to honor former 10th prime minister of India Atal Bihari Vajpayee in 2018.It was once known as Ekana cricket stadium. Locals, on the other hand, prefer to address it by its old name.

In comparison, the stadium has the longest straight is the home venue of the Uttar Pradesh cricket team ,the UP women’s cricket team, and the Lucknow super Giants, an IPL franchise.

Known asEkana International cricket stadium
LocationLucknow, India
Time zoneUTC+5:30
Home toUttar Pradesh, Lucknow Super Giants
ownerEkana sports city
Setting typeStadium
Field shapeRound
Field size160*156
ArchitectSkyline Architectural consultants
Stadium Facts
Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Cricket Stadium
Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Cricket Stadium

History of the Stadium

The project to build a world-class stadium in Lucknow was commissioned in 2014.Also, the stadium was built through a public-private partnership between Ekana Sports City and the Lucknow Development Authority during the state government 2012-17 tenure, under the supervision of then-UP chief minister Akhilesh Yadav.

Moreover, Ekana sports city is a partnership between Nagarjuna Construction Company and GC construction and Development industries Pvt Ltd. According to the collaboration agreement, the government granted Ekana sports city a 35-year lease on 71 acres to develop the cricket stadium, with the term expiring in 2052.

Furthermore, the government gave 66 acres of additional property for real estate projects on a 99 year lease. The cricket stadium cost 360 crores (3.6 billion rupees) to construct.

Duleep trophy in Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Cricket Stadium

It also hosted the final of the 2017-18 Duleep trophy prior to its international debut. Moreover, the stadium has been designed to host the third one day international (ODI) between India and New Zealand on Oct 27, 2017.The location, however, was changed to Kanpur after the stadium was declared inoperable. On Nov 6, 2018, the stadium held its maiden international match. Hence, t20 between India and the West Indies, becoming India’s 52nd international cricket ground.

India-Sri Lanka Test Match

After the India-Sri Lanka test match in 1994, International cricket returned to Lucknow after a gap of 24 years. Also, in the game, Rohit Sharma became the first cricketer in T20I history to score four hundred. Moreover, India won that match by a core of 71 runs. The KD Singh Babu stadium last held an international match in Jan 1994, when India played a test match versus Sri Lanka.

Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Cricket Stadium
Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Cricket Stadium

International Matches in Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Cricket Stadium

Afghanistan Cricket board asked that the BCCI use this stadium for international matches in May 2019. Moreover, the BCCI gave the facility to the Afghanistan national cricket team in august 2019 as their third home site in India, having previously played in Dehradun and greater Noida.

Therefore, it hosted all of the matches in the 2019 Afghanistan vs West Indies series. Also, the venue hosted its first ODI match. On 27 Nov 2019, the venue hosted its first test match.

Women T20 Challenge

In contrast, the venue was set to host all of the matches for the fourth edition of the Woman’s T20 challenge in May 2022.Whereas, the matches were later relocated to the Maharashtra cricket association stadium in Pune.

Ceremony for Award Distribution

The state government conducted an award ceremony in the stadium on Aug 19, 2021, to celebrate the athletes who won medals at the 2020 summer Olympics. Following this, which were held in Tokyo, Japan. The Uttar Pradesh government provided financial assistance to all of them. Hence, the top prize was awarded to Neeraj Chopra, the only Indian to win a gold medal in the javelin throw.

Ceremony of taking the Oath

Yogi Adityanath took his oath as Uttar Pradesh’s chief minister on March 25, 2022. Following this, his victory in the 2022 Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly elections. Anandiben Patel, the Governor of Uttar Pradesh, administered the oath. Hence, Many VVIPs, celebrities, and significant businesses were invited to the occasion. In addition to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, and Chief Ministers from NDA-led states.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Matches Schedule

08:30 GMTRSA vs  AUS ,10TH MATCH
08:30 GMTSL vs AUS ,14TH MATCH
05:00 GMTSL vs NED ,19TH MATCH
08:30 GMTENG vs IND ,29TH
CWC23 Matches Schedule of the Stadium
Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Cricket Stadium
Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Cricket Stadium

Test Matches

Total matches1
Matches won bowling first1
Avg first inning scores187
Avg second inning scores277
Avg  third Inning scores120
Avg  fourth Inning scores33
Highest total recorded277/10 by AFG vs WI (83.3 over)
Lowest  total recorded120/10 by AFG vs WI (43.1 over)
Test Stats

ODI Matches

Total matches9
Matches won batting2
Matches won bowling7
Avg first inning scores219
Avg second inning scores212
Highest total recorded269/3 by INDW vs RSAW (48.4 over)
Lowest  total recorded157/10 by INDW vs RSAW (41 over)
Highest score chased269/3 by INDW vs RSAW (48.4 over )
Lowest  score defended248/5 by RSAW vs INDW (50 over)
ODI Stats

T20I Matches

Total matches9
Matches won batting first5
Matches won bowling first4
Avg first inning score151
Avg second  Inning  score126
Highest total recorded199/2 by SL vs IND (20 over)
Highest score chased159/4 by INDW vs RSAW (20 over)
Lowest  score defended156/8 by WI vs AFG (20 over)
T20I Stats


  1. What is the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Cricket Stadium’s track record?

The First Batting Team won two matches, while the Chasing Team won two. In total, 1829 runs were scored by 2197 delivered balls in four ODI matches (including both innings runs), with a per match run average of 457.25 and a strike rate of 83.2.

  • What is the background of the Bharat Ratna Stadium?

It was renamed after former Indian Prime Minister Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

  • What is the highest IPL score?

The highest IPL score is 193.

  • What is the T20 record at Bharat Ratna Stadium?

On the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, the highest T20 score is 249 and the lowest score is 99.

1 thought on “Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Cricket Stadium, Lucknow”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *